Safety

Bookmark and Share

Regional Safety Events Promote Networking and Data Sharing

June 29, 2018

Reflecting the industry’s commitment to safety, many regional business aviation groups have taken to hosting an annual safety day to promote education, networking and data sharing. NBAA encourages these types of events as a way for operators to increase personal and organizational vigilance, as well as improve safety practices and procedures.

“These regional events offer people a locally based opportunity to enhance their safety knowledge, while networking with other operators in their area and sharing data and information, particularly about safety issues specific to their region,” said Mark Larsen, NBAA’s senior manager, safety and flight operations.

For example, the recent Westchester Aviation Association Safety Day held on June 20 offered a robust agenda focused on the impact of technology and data on aviation safety, drawing 240 attendees from a wide variety of companies throughout the Northeast U.S. The event included recognition of scholarship recipients and was held in conjunction with NBAA’s White Plains Regional Forum.

Upcoming Safety Days

Three regional groups with upcoming safety events include the North Texas Business Aviation Association, Georgia Business Aviation Association and SoCal Aviation Association, which are offering safety days in August and September.

The North Texas Business Aviation Association will hold its NTBAA Safety Show-down at the Addison Conference Center on Aug. 23-24, with education sessions focusing on the leading safety concerns of pilots, flight attendants, schedulers, technicians and administrators. The Safety Show-Down includes a networking event on Aug. 23, and API’s Sheryl Barden will hold a town hall discussion on recruiting and retention strategies for the current aviation workforce shortage on Friday, Aug. 24.

The Georgia Business Aviation Association will hold its GBAA Safety Day and Static Display at the Renaissance Concourse Atlanta Hotel on Sept. 8. Sessions during the daylong event will explore current operational topics, and participants will have opportunities to visit with key vendors and network with other business aviation professionals from across the region.

The SoCal Aviation Association will hold its 10th annual SCAA Safety Stand-Down at California’s Carlsbad Sheraton on Sept. 10. The daylong event will include an evening reception. Students enrolled in a collegiate aviation program, active student pilots and active flight instructors interested in business aviation can apply for one of 20 free Safety Stand-down Scholarships.

“NBAA encourages its members to attend regional aviation safety days,” said Steve Hadley, NBAA’s director of regional programs. “Not only are they excellent tools for raising and maintaining organizational safety awareness, their networking opportunities enable members from across the region to identify emerging safety challenges and share effective solutions.”

Know of an upcoming regional safety day in your area? Let your NBAA regional representative know:

  • Central Region (IA, IN, IL, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, WI) – Bob Quinn, bquinn@nbaa.org
  • Mid-Atlantic Region (DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV) – Paige Kroner, pkroner@nbaa.org
  • Northeast Region (CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, RI, VT) – Brittany Davies, bdavies@nbaa.org
  • Northwest Region (AK, ID, MT, ND, OR, SD, UT, WA, WY) – Kristi Ivey, kivey@nbaa.org
  • Southeast Region (AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN) – Greg Voos, gvoos@nbaa.org
  • Southwest Region (AR, CO, KS, LA, OK, TX) – Steve Hadley, shadley@nbaa.org
  • Western Region (AZ, CA, HI, NV, NM) – Phil Derner, pderner@nbaa.org

Photo: NBAA Weather Specialist, Air Traffic Services John Kosak was a speaker at the 2018 Westchester Aviation Association Safety Day in New York.