2010 Press Releases

Bookmark and Share

NBAA to Honor 11 Flying Safety Award Recipients at Annual Convention

Washington, DC, September 23, 2010 – The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) today announced 11 recipients of the Association's Safe Flying Achievement Awards for 2010.

The recipients include companies awarded for 50 and 60 years of safe flight, as well as a new award for companies with 75 years of unblemished aviation safety.

The awards will be bestowed on the recipients at 12:00 p.m. on October 19, as part of the NBAA Awards Luncheon taking place during the Association’s 63rd Annual Meeting & Convention, October 19 to 21, in Atlanta, GA.

“When it comes to safety, these companies have set the standard in our industry,” said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen. “They have proven that aviation safety is more than just a slogan, and have provided an example for others to follow.” Bolen noted that the 75-year award recipients have conducted business flights without an accident for nearly three-quarters of the entire history of powered flight.

The NBAA Board of Directors established the Flying Safety Awards program in 1953, and has since recognized hundreds of Member Companies and individuals for their aviation safety records. In 1998, the Association presented its first 50 Year Safe Flying Achievement Awards and in 2006, added the 60-year category. This year is the first year for the 75 Year Safe Flying Achievement Awards. 

Including this year’s winners, a total of 72 NBAA Member Companies have been recognized for 50 or more years of safe flying.

The six NBAA Member Companies receiving this year’s NBAA 50 Year Safety Flying Achievement Award are:

  • Aerodynamics Incorporated of Waterford, MI;
  • Avista Corporation of Spokane, WA;   
  • Campbell Soup Company of Camden, NJ;
  • Nationwide Aviation Business Center of Columbus, OH;
  • The Procter & Gamble Company of Cincinnati, OH, and;
  • Sentry Insurance, a Mutual Company of Stevens Point, WI.

Three other NBAA Member Companies will receive the prestigious 60 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award. Those are:

  • CSX Corporation Aviation Department of Jacksonville, FL;  
  • General Mills, Incorporated of Minneapolis, MN, and;
  • Kaiserair, Incorporated of Oakland, CA.

Receiving NBAA’s inaugural 75 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award are: 

  • Lane Aviation Corporation of Columbus, OH, and;
  • The South Carolina Aeronautics Commission of Columbia, SC.

For more information about the NBAA’s 63rd Annual Meeting & Convention, visit www.nbaa.org/2010.

For more information about NBAA's award programs, visit www.nbaa.org/awards 

# # #

Founded in 1947 and based in Washington, DC, the National Business Aviation Association, Inc. (NBAA) is the leading organization for companies that rely on general aviation aircraft to help make their businesses more efficient, productive and successful. The Association represents more than 8,000 companies and provides more than 100 products and services to the business aviation community, including the NBAA Annual Meeting & Convention, the world's largest civil aviation trade show. Learn more about NBAA at www.nbaa.org.

Members of the media may receive NBAA Press Releases immediately via e-mail. To subscribe to the NBAA Press Release e-mail list, submit the online form at www.nbaa.org/news/pr/subscribe.