Business Aviation Insider

Bookmark and Share
Click to return to the January/Feburary 2011 Edition

Online Extra

Nominate a Business Aviation Leader for NBAA's Doswell Award

Through March 18, NBAA will be accepting nominations for one its most prestigious awards, the John P. "Jack" Doswell Award, which recognizes lifelong individual achievement in support of the aims, goals and objectives of business aviation. The 2011 recipient will be recognized at the NBAA 64th Annual Meeting & Convention in Las Vegas, NV.

The award is named after the extraordinary Jack Doswell, who founded the American Standard flight department in 1969. After an attack of Guillain-Barre Syndrome in 1973, he was left with limited use of his hands and feet, but was able to regain his license by demonstrating his cockpit ability, and he subsequently flew various general aviation aircraft. He also led several NBAA standing committees and local aviation associations in New York and Florida before passing away in 1987. (Review Doswell's full biography.)

Past recipients of the Doswell Award have demonstrated their lifelong commitment to business aviation in a variety of ways. Many have led flight departments and NBAA committees and served on the Association's Board of Directors.

Some Doswell Award winners have been innovators who have changed the face of business aviation. For example, the most recipient, Chuck McKinnon, was recognized in 2010 for his pioneering role in business flying, having founded IBM's flight department and later established IBM Euroflight, the first business aviation operation in Europe.

Several winners, such as J. Robert Duncan and E. Patrick "Pat" Epps, built outstanding aviation support organizations and volunteered their time to support various industry causes. Another winner, AiResearch Aviation's head of customer service Scott E. Miller, was heavily involved in a variety of NBAA activities before eventually becoming the first Associate Member advisor to the NBAA Board of Directors.

Other Doswell Award winners have served the industry in unique ways. For example, two cancer survivors, Priscilla Blum and Jay Weinberg, were recognized in 1993 for founding the Corporate Angel Network, which arranges free air transportation for cancer patients traveling to treatment using the empty seats on business jets. The 1997 award winner, J. Sheldon "Torch" Lewis, was a business aviator who for several decades championed the industry in print, sharing his wit and wisdom in the "Greenhouse Patter" column in Business and Commercial Aviation magazine.

If you know someone who is worthy of consideration for the Doswell Award by virtue of having demonstrated a lifelong commitment to business aviation, please consider submitting a nomination to NBAA by Friday, March 18, 2011 (extended deadline). For more information, review the nominations requirements or direct questions to:

Benjamin Schwalen
1200 18th Street NW, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: (202) 783-9266
Fax: (202) 530-0979

Top photo: Award namesake Jack Doswell, shown in 1982. Bottom photo: Chuck McKinnon (center), the 2010 Doswell Award recipient, accepting his award at the NBAA 63rd Annual Meeting & Convention from NBAA Chairman Pat Cunningham (left) and NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen.

Return to Table of Contents