2011 News

Bookmark and Share

FAA’s 2011 GA Awards Spotlight Aviation Professionals

Annual Program a Partnership with Advocacy Groups, FAA

January 14, 2011

Four aviation professionals were recently acknowledged for their diverse contributions to the industry, through the 2011 General Aviation Awards. The annual awards program is a collaborative effort with the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and over a dozen aviation organizations, including NBAA.

The 2011 National Certificated Flight Instructor (CFI) of the Year is Judy Ann Phelps, a three-time Master CFI-Aerobatic who resides in Santa Paula, CA. Phelps specializes in spin and emergency procedures training, as well as tailwheel instruction. She served as president of the Ninety Nines from 2000-2002, and currently volunteers with the National Aviation Safety Foundation.

Joseph Morales of Lakewood, CO was selected as the 2011 National Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) of the Year. Morales serves as quality control manager and repair station chief inspector for Doss Aviation, which is responsible for maintaining over 50 training aircraft at the US Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs.

The 2011 National Avionics Technician of the Year is Russell Callender, Jr., owner of RC Avionics based at Anoka County-Blaine Airport (ANE) in Blaine, MN. With over 30 years of experience in aircraft maintenance, Callender specializes in computer-aided drafting and redesign of aircraft instrument panels.

Vicki Lynn Sherman of Deland, FL is the 2011 National FAASTeam Representative of the Year. Selected from among the 3,000 aviators participating in the volunteer safety program, Sherman provides flight, ground, and simulator instruction. She also sponsors and teaches seminars through the WINGS program.

"These four individuals represent the proficiency, skill and dedication to safety that are so vital to the success of general aviation," said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen. "NBAA is proud to be among the organizations working with the FAA to spotlight such aviation professionals."

The General Aviation Awards recognizes contributors in the fields of flight instruction, aviation maintenance, avionics, and flight safety. More information about the program, as well as this year's recipients, visit www.generalaviationawards.org.