NBAA2013 News Bureau

Bookmark and Share

NBAA Presents Doswell and Winant Awards, Recognizes Safe Flying Achievement

October 22, 2013

On Oct. 22, NBAA recognized the lifelong contributions of two industry veterans, as well as the long safe–flying records of more than a dozen Member Companies, at the annual NBAA Awards Luncheon.

"We want to honor the remarkable work done by individuals and organizations across the business aviation community – work that benefits the industry as a whole," said NBAA President and CEO Ed Bolen, who hosted the ceremony.

Two of NBAA's top awards were handed out during the event.

The 2013 John P. "Jack" Doswell Award – which recognizes lifetime achievement on behalf of and in support of the aims, goals and objectives of business aviation – was given to Peter Ingleton, director of liaison to the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) for the International Business Aviation Council (IBAC).

Ingleton has spent most of his more than 40 years in the industry working with ICAO officials on the development of international aviation regulatory policy, initially on behalf of the International Air Transport Association and for IBAC for the past 15 years. He has been the primary person who keeps ICAO and its state representatives knowledgeable about business aviation, and, in turn, has kept business aviation current with evolving international rules and policy.

Ingleton has been involved in some of IBAC's biggest successes, such as ICAO's official recognition of the industry best practices codified in the International Standard for Business Aircraft Operations, as well as the redrafting of ICAO Annex 6, Part 2, which governs general aviation.

Watch the video about Ingleton shown at the NBAA Awards Luncheon.

The John H. Winant Award – which honors the late NBAA director and long-time association president by recognizing other former NBAA directors who have dedicated their time to promoting business aviation after they have left the NBAA Board of Directors – was also presented at the luncheon.

The 2013 Winant Award recipient is James Cooling, a pilot and managing director of the Kansas City law firm of Cooling & Herbers, P.C. who served on the NBAA Board from 2001 to 2008. Following that period, Cooling has continued his work on behalf of the association and Corporate Angel Network (CAN) by helping organize the Convention's annual NBAA/CAN Soiree charity event, which raises funds to support CAN's life-saving work of transporting cancer patients aboard business aircraft to clinics for treatment.

Cooling also serves on the organizing committee for the annual Gathering of Eagles dinner on behalf of the Experimental Aircraft Association's Young Eagles program. And in 2011, he was elected to the Board of Trustees of the National Aviation Hall of Fame.

Watch the video about Cooling shown at the NBAA Awards Luncheon.

Also during the NBAA Awards Luncheon, more than a dozen operators who have flown safely for at least a half century also were recognized. Companies feted for receiving the 60 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award included:

  • Citigroup Corporate Aviation
  • Duke Energy Corp.
  • The Kroger Co.
  • NCR Aviation Department
  • PPG Industries, Inc.
  • SC Aviation, Inc.
  • Spectra Energy Corporation
  • Twin Disc, Inc.

In addition, the following operators were recognized for receiving the 50 Year Safe Flying Achievement Award:

  • Bissell, Inc.
  • The Gorman-Rupp. Co.
  • Nestle Purina Pet Care Co.
  • Pfizer, Inc.
  • Sportman's Market, Inc.