Gold Wing Award for Journalism Excellence

Bookmark and Share

The entry deadline for the 2018 NBAA Gold Wing Award competition is now closed. Direct any questions to

The NBAA Gold Wing Award for Journalism Excellence is presented annually for excellent, accurate and insightful reporting on issues related to business aviation, by trade or nontrade media. The award recognizes journalism's important role in reporting the significant contributions of business aviation to the national economy, with "business aviation" defined as the use of general aviation aircraft for business purposes. To be eligible, entrants may be either paid staff members or freelancers for the publisher.

All entries for the Gold Wing Award must be submitted via the secure online form, and hardcopy entries are not accepted. Review the entry rules below before entering.

Winners will receive a $1,000 honorarium at the Media Kickoff Breakfast of NBAA’s 2018 Business Aviation Convention & Exhibition (NBAA-BACE), to be held from Oct. 16-18, 2018, in Orlando, FL. Co-authors of a winning entry will share honorarium. Review the list of past recipients.

Entry Rules

  • All entries must be submitted online via the secure web-based entry form. For articles originally published in print, entrants must submit articles in digital format (e.g., via URL or file upload). Hardcopy entries will not be accepted.
  • If a password is required to access online entries, provide username and password with entry form.
  • Entries may be single articles, features or a series on business aviation issues originally published in print or digital formats, including but not limited to magazine, newspaper, newsletter, blog, podcast and video entries.
  • For the 2018 award, stories should have appeared in print, online or on-air between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2018.
  • Entries will be reviewed by a panel, and the panel's decision is final.
  • The deadline for the 2018 award is Aug. 3, 2018. Entries must be received by this date to be eligible.
  • All entries become the property of NBAA and entrant gives consent for reprinting/duplication. Entrant also gives NBAA permission to use entry and entrant's name for educational or promotional purposes.

Past Recipients

Past recipients of the Gold Wing Award include: